After all the gloom a ray of light to brighten our day

somewhere nowhere blog

It doesn’t take long. I am, overnight, disconnected from the mainframe of technology.

Serenity Tarn on the hills above Wasdale Serenity

Signal-less, no WiFi, no television, no radio. No emails to draw me in, no texts, no messages to log and reply to.

Finally, I have found a pause from a near ceaseless state of alert – and my nervous system has found another frequency. My head relaxes. I have walked to the top of a fell layered by bog, boulders, yellow grass and freshly fallen hail, and here I am now, still, sitting on a broad litchen-covered stone whose cold and stubborn hardness is reasurring.

Clouds play overhead, and then the lid of sky is split, for only a matter of minutes and the ever-present high blue is revealed behind them. It reflects azure in the waters of the tarn, ridged black where the wind whips up ripples. The sound of breeze on high sky is…

View original post 191 more words

