Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

inertia-on-full-wall

Are you sitting comfortably?

“It isn’t so much as what’s on the table that matters as what’s on the chairs”.

William S. Gilbert

The chair has long been a metaphor for the human and many artists have utilised this motif to great effect. It is a powerful symbol I return to often in my work, its accessibility makes it a favourite with many.

I have just finished working on the remnants of a broken and battered wooden chair, that I found washed up on a local beach, with its shabby paint and distorted form, it is completely gorgeous.  The chair appears to be walking into the wall with flies crawling up one side of its back.

Inertia

A new sculpture for my Beautiful Dystopias Collection.

Dimensions: 86 x 65 x 24 cm

Materials: found broken, wooden chair, hand crafted flies, concealed metal fixings

inerstia-detail-fly-leg inertia-single-flyThis sculpture will be be shown at the PR1 Gallery, Preston, UK from 8-19 April 2013 as part of my new solo exhibition Beautiful Dystopias.

